Premiere in 2004 - The AESKU.AWARD was granted for the first time...

The AESKU.AWARD for life contribution to autoimmunity was granted for the first time to three pioneers in research in the field of autoimmune diseases.

The 4th International Congress on Autoimmunity in Budapest November 3-7, 2004 opened with a premiere: The AESKU.AWARD for life contribution to autoimmunity was granted for the first time during the opening session on the first evening.


award reportThis year three pioneers in research of auto-immune diseases have been rewarded for their work: Donato Alarcon Segovia, Ian R. Mackay and Noel R. Rose. In the course of the past decades the award winners have made a major contribution to research into the causes of auto-immune diseases.

Yehuda Shoenfeld, congress chairman and holder of the world's first professorship for autoimmunity at Tel Aviv University introduced Donato Alarcon Segovia, National Institute of Medical Sciences and Nutrition, Mexico, DF, Mexico, who unfortunately wasn´t able to join the congress.

Noel R. Rose, Departments of Pathology and Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, John Hopkins Medical Institutions, Baltimore, MD, USA, reported, also introduced by Yehuda Shoenfeld, on "The transition from benign to pathogenic autoimmunity: the myocarditis model".Last but not least Ian R. Mackay, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria, Australia, who was introduced by the chairman M.E. Gershwin from the University of California School of Medicine, USA, held a lecture about "Autoimmune epitopes: autoepitopes".

The AESKU.AWARD for life contribution to autoimmunity does not only want to show the importance of research on autoimmune diseases it also aims to establish the significant field of autoimmunity as an independent research area and to foster inter-disciplinary cooperation.AESKU continuously invests in research and development to create new opportunities that improve diagnosis and therapy of autoimmune diseases substantially.

Therefore the research team also contributed to the scientific program together with research partners from renowned universities.